The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), on Monday, released the timetable and guidelines for the local government election in Oyo State

According to a statement signed by the commission’s Chairman, Aare Isiaka Abiodun Olagunju SAN, stakeholders were urged to give their total support and cooperation to the commission to ensure it organise and conduct free, fair, credible and transparent local government election in the State.

The statement read:

In compliance with Section 30 Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), Section 5 (a) and Paragraph 1 (1) Schedule 2 of the State Independent Electoral Commission Law CAP 154, Laws of Oyo State of Nigeria 2000, the general public is hereby informed that Elections will be conducted in thirty-three (33) Local Government Councils in Oyo State on SATURDAY, 15th May, 2021 between 8:00a.m. and 3.00p.m.
In the circumstance, prospective candidates are expected to obtain nomination forms in respect of the elections into their Local Government Councils at the Commission’s headquarters situate at Quarters 484, Total Garden –Gate Road, Agodi GRA, Ibadan. Oyo State on or before Monday 30th April 2021 upon payment of the sum of (A) N250,000:00k (Two Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira) only for the position of Chairman or (B) N100,000:00k (One Hundred Thousand Naira Only) for the position of a Councilor.
The relevant prescribed fee(s) as stated above shall be payable to either The OYSIEC (Chairmanship) Zenith Bank Account No. 1211862568 or The OYSIEC (Councillorship) Zenith Bank Account No. 1211851234 respectively depending on the position the candidate is contesting for in the elections.
The breakdown of the election time table is hereby shown below:-


Google search engine

Google search engine
Previous articleINSECURITY: Makinde, Akeredolu Visit Shasa Community, Pledges Palliatives For Victims
Next articleJUST IN: Court Sacks Oyo Monarch, Directs Governor To Withdraw Monarch’s Certificate And Staff Of Office


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here