The Oyo State government has effected the release of six persons arrested in connection with #EndSARS protests and the attack on the palace of the Soun of Ogbomoso, Oba Jimoh Oyewumi, on October 10, 2020.

This came as the Chief Magistrate Court 2, Iyaganku, Ibadan, on Tuesday, granted an application by the state Attorney General seeking that suspects arrested in connection with the palace attack and protests be discharged and charge filed against them be withdrawn.

Governor Seyi Makinde had during an assessment visit to the Soun’s palace promised a release of the suspects and directed the Attorney General to make an application to that effect.

The discharged suspects are Olaoluwa Busayo, Olagoke David, Olusola Matthew, Amole Adebayo, Adedokun Segun and Ganiyu Saheed.

The police had apprehended the six as being part of those responsible for the attack on the palace.

The attack on the palace had occurred as some residents of Ogbomoso protested the killing of one Jimoh Isiaka by the police, during #EndSARS protests in the town.

The statement by the State Ministry of Justice, titled ‘Re-unconditional Release of the 6 Suspects Arrested In Ogbomoso in Connection with Ongoing National Protest’ and signed by the Director Public Prosecution, Mr Nathaniel Okeniyi on Tuesday read, “Sequel to the promise of his Excellency, Governor Seyi Makinde at Ogbomoso to effect the release of the suspects arrested in connection with the protest, today, being October 19, 2020, the Chief Magistrate Court 2, Iyaganku Ibadan, on the application of Attorney General has discharged and withdrawn the charge filed against the suspects forthwith.”

Google search engine

Google search engine
Previous articleJUST IN: #EndSARS: Makinde Directs Schools To Close, Deploys Operation Burst To Hotspots As Protests Turn Bloody
Next article#EndSARS: No Excuse for What has Happened, I Stand with People — Adelabu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here