Prof. Adeolu Akande


The Elders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in 10 local government councils in Oke Ogun area of Oyo State has endorsed Professor Adeolu Akande as their choice candidate for the governorship ticket of Oyo State in 2023.

Prof. Adeolu Akande

The Elders made the resolution in Ilero,Kajola Local Government after a stakeholders meeting presided over by Alhaji Abu Gbadamosi.

The meeting also resolved not to vie for the chairmanship position of the APC in the forthcoming congress of the party. The meeting argued that Oyo North Senatorial zone has produced the Chairman of the party for the past 10 years in the person of Chief Akin Oke.The meeting resolved that it is the turn of other Senatorial zones to produce the Chairman of the party.

The meeting which also had former Commissioners,former House of Assembly members, former local government chairmen and former party officials commended members of the party for trooping out en masses to register in the last party membership exercise commended the zone for coming out with the highest number of registered members in the party.

The Elders advised members of the party to brace up for the forthcoming congress of the party at a date yet to be announced by the national headquarters of the party.

They also advised party members in the zone to welcome gubernatorial aspirants from other zone but nothing that they should politely inform them of the resolution of the zone to produce the next governor of Oyo State.

The Elders also resolved to reach out to other zones of the state to solicit their support for their candidate.”We can not do it alone and we need the support of all parts of the state to actualize the project”, the Elders noted.

Other elders of the party in the attendance are Chief Goke Oyetunji,former Senatorial Chairman of the APC in Oyo North, Dr Ahmed Ayinla,Chief Tijani Balogun,Chief James Adeleke, Chief James Oke, Chief Aderoju Egbedokun, Alhaji Zarayiyau Mustapha, Hon. John Olalerun and Alhaji Waheed Adesina.Akinlotan, Dr Mathew Oyedokun, Mr Azeez Bonuola,former Commissioner for Special Duties and Mr Dejo Adebisi, former Special Assistant to Governor Abiola Ajimobi.

The attendees also included former chairmen of local government councils including Iseyin, Kajola ,Iwajowa ,Itesiwaju, Olorunsogo, Orelope, Irepo and Iwajowa local government councils.


Google search engine
Previous articleTRIBUTE: Remembering Eruwa Born Historian, Professor J.A Atanda | Toyin Falola
Next articleCelebrating UI’s Pacesetting Registrar, Chief Mojisola Ladipo At 70


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here